Mini Art Challenge–2

This is a follow-up post with more index card art I have completed in the past few weeks. Just in case you missed it, I introduced this project HERE.

I am almost caught up with the ICAD challenge…just a few more cards with book title/author written on them, but no clue what image I want to add!

A Year by the Sea by Joan Anderson

A Year by the Sea by Joan Anderson

This is an inspirational book I re-read occasionally. During a year spent alone by the sea, the author spent hours watching seals play on the beach and in the ocean. I looked up photos on-line to find a seal to draw. I sketched with a Zig-writer Scrapbooking marker, then added color with watercolor crayons.

The GOD Species: Saving the planet in the age of humans by Mark Lynas

The GOD Species: Saving the planet in the age of humans by Mark Lynas

This book looks at the planetary boundaries being reached and consider what role humans might play protecting the earth. I couldn’t figure out a way to illustrate “planetary boundaries” so I decided to try a classic image of human/earth interaction. This card was sketched late night. I just wanted to get it over with so I scribbled away with colored ball-point pens. I stuffed it in the tin with the other cards, frustrated and disappointed at not doing a “good” job. Then when I pulled it out to add it to the blog, I realized I really like the scribbled lines!

July 2013 Issue of O Magazine

July 2013 Issue of O Magazine

This card combined my three favorite supplies–ball-point pens, scrapbook marker, and watercolor crayon–with a quick, fun, whimsical technique of doodling. (Can simple doodling really be called a “technique”?!) I enjoy the whimsy and the movement of this card and bright colors always make my heart sing.

...who knows what I read on this day?!

…who knows what I read on this day?!

Since I couldn’t, for the life of me, figure out what I read on this day (and a day with nothing read usually means I was deathly ill, which was NOT the case), I decided to make a generic illustration of my theme of BOOKS. I’ve seen some really cool zentangles and decided to try my hand at making one. This was enough fun I will definitely try the style again. (And I really like how the one corner of the book goes past the outline–serendipity!)

Bread and Wine by Shauna Neiquist

Bread and Wine by Shauna Neiquist

This is the current book club selection on (in)courage. If you would like to view interviews with the author and occasional cooking videos, click HERE. This was done with my usual supplies. I added the reflection of a cross in the cup of wine–something I’ve envisioned for years but never really figured out how to put to paper.

Neil Flambe and the Tokyo Treasure by Kevin Sylvester

Neil Flambe and the Tokyo Treasure by Kevin Sylvester

This book is a juvenile mystery series with a chef and his friends as detectives. In this story he was participating in a challenge to cook a variety of dangerous seafood dishes. It was quite handy that a catalogue for farm-pond stocking and maintenance arrived on the day I was pondering how to add a bunch of fish to this card! Thus, it is a collage of torn-out pictures along with a few additions via scrapbook markers.

The Tattooed Potato and Other Clues by Ellen Raskin

The Tattooed Potato and Other Clues by Ellen Raskin

I know, I know, this is a surreal card…but the book was quite surreal as well! The tattooed word “potato” was a significant clue to solve the mystery. I looked up tattoo fonts on the internet, then added a color-wash behind it. To be more accurate to the book, the card should probably have been posted up-side-down!

Coram Boy by Jamila Gavin

Coram Boy by Jamila Gavin

This supposedly juvenile historical fiction book is NOT one I’m recommending that you read. Focused on the lives of children in 1700s England, it was quite a dark book. (Confession time–since I prefer happy, sunny things in life, books, and movies, I did not actually finish the book. Even the “happy ending” wasn’t particularly happy.) It took me awhile to figure out how I wanted to portray darkness and evil on this card. I made a drawn collage of images in black scrapbook marker, overlaid with scribbles and with the darkest shades of watercolor crayons. Although I greatly disliked the book, I’m generally happy with this portrayal of it!

Thanks for taking a peak at more mini-art! Hope you enjoyed what I’m doing…

Leave a Reply

