Mini Art Challenge–3

Another post of some of the index card art I have completed this summer for ICAD 2013. Again, if you missed the explanation of this challenge, you can read about it HERE.

More books, more reading, more art:

The Authentic Garden: Five Principles for Cultivating a Sense of Place by Claire E Sawyers

The Authentic Garden: Five Principles for Cultivating a Sense of Place by Claire E Sawyers

This book was a challenge to figure out what I wanted to illustrate: collaged flowers? drawn garden statue(s)? painted flower beds? I finally decided to show something we are considering doing to decorate our front yard. In doing this (based on a bunch of photos off the internet). I used my usual supplies (ball-point pens, scrapbook markers, and watercolor crayons). It’s fine as a sketch…but obviously machines are NOT something I have much experience in drawing! At least it’s a John Deere—easy to identify by the bright green and yellow!

Lesson #2 from The Law of Love, a book study on Deuteronomy by Beth Moore

Lesson #2 from The Law of Love, a book study on Deuteronomy by Beth Moore

This card illustrates the main take-home idea that has stayed with me from last week’s study. I used my usual supplies. I think I’m going to do some practice drawings to try to make objects look more 3-D. The shading in the heart is pretty, but did not give the results I was hoping for…

The Last Giant of Beringia: The Mystery of the Bering Land Bridge by Dan O'Neill

The Last Giant of Beringia: The Mystery of the Bering Land Bridge by Dan O’Neill

This was actually a fascinating book which describes the inter-disciplinary sciences which were gathered together to prove the existence of the Bering Land Bridge which connected Siberia and Alaska during the last ice-ages. I always enjoy the geeky science facts…but the description of a frozen mammoth discovered in Siberia with a buttercup still in its teeth stuck in my head. And when I think of Wooly Mammoths I always think of Snuffleupagus from Sesame Street. All of which resulted in this fun, whimsical, cartoon-like illustration for a book which might bore many readers! (Done with the usual materials.)

Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World's Strangest Parrot by Sy Montgomery AND Extreme Birds: The World's Most Extraordinary and Bizarre Birds by Dominic Couzens

Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot by Sy Montgomery AND Extreme Birds: The World’s Most Extraordinary and Bizarre Birds by Dominic Couzens

I spent time on a lazy Sunday afternoon, reading a kid’s book and a general fact book brought home by my bird-loving older daughter. Both books had amazing, awesome photography. The colorful parrot in the middle of the card is a Kakapo (only 87 birds remaining in a remote area of New Zealand). The marker sketches at the corners were some of the fun shaped birds from the larger book. (In this case, I labeled the species on the back of the card so I won’t forget them.) I like the juxtaposition of color and black and white sketches.

Bonus Card: Illustrating Sermon Series Topic from church

Bonus Card: Illustrating Sermon Series Topic from church

This was a bonus card for the end of June. I was fascinated by the shadows cast on the wall behind the platform cross at church. I quietly took a photo to draw from once I got home. I added the word and some bright colors to represent the topic of the current sermon series. I may do more playing with the photo to try to better capture the interplay of shadows…

Leave a Reply

