Mini Art Challenge– 6

I had fun this week making a number of dimensional art cards. The baristas are also getting to know me at the local S*bucks and want to see what work I’ve done before I leave the store. I can certainly do this work at home, but it’s fun to make it a date with myself and work at a corner table with iced coffee and music playing.

Following is mini art made on index cards that I have completed during the past week for the on-line art challenge,  ICAD 2013. If you missed the explanation of this challenge, you can read about it HERE.

Lesson #1 in "Magnificent" Sermon Series by Pastor Tom Pauquette

Lesson #1 in “Magnificent” Sermon Series by Pastor Tom Pauquette

This is the last catch-up bonus card reflecting on the sermons in a summer series at our local church. This one was focused on a short movie called “The Butterfly Circus.” If you haven’t seen it, by all means STOP, and go watch it on you-tube or rent or buy a copy! This card was sketched quickly with a scrapbook marker, lettering added, watercolor crayons used for color, and, once dry, a sticker added. I used two identical stickers with pop-dots between to lift the butterfly’s wings a bit.

Lesson # 3 of Law of Love, Beth Moore's Bible Study on the Book of Deuteronomy

Lesson # 3 of Law of Love, Beth Moore’s Bible Study on the Book of Deuteronomy

This card is an abstract representation of a copper mine. Go do an on-line search for photos of copper mines, they are really fascinating looking. (I’m not talking about environmental impact, but merely the layers and layers of bluish green.) This collage was done by tearing paper layers. Unfortunately it took forever because I didn’t think it through and tore each piece to stack on top of the one before. That way I did not have to tear holes in the center of each piece. But when put together the layers did not make a “hole” in the ground but stacked outward. Oops! So I reworked each piece to layer everything in the opposite direction. Finally, I colored the mountain background with watercolor crayons. Once that dried I glued on all of the pieces. I love the way this turned out–even if it IS hard to tell what it is!

"Recipes from the Dump" by Abigail Stone

“Recipes from the Dump” by Abigail Stone

I did not particularly enjoy this book. However, it inspired a blog post with “recipes” from my recent life. (You can read that post HERE.) I made a second attempt at weaving a background. This time I used two significantly different colors of paper which makes the weaving very apparent. I wrote the “ingredients” from two different “recipes” from my blog entry, then cut the lists apart in narrow strips. I wove them together withOUT gluing the strips at each step. This let me move the papers slightly to highlight certain words. After arranged to my liking, I glued the entire mat to the index card with ModPodge, including brushing glue all over the top of the weaving. Then I used watercolor crayons to sketch and paint a cup of tea. When dry, I cut it out and added the cup over top of the woven recipes.

"To the Ends of the Earth: Adventures of an Expedition Photographer" by Gordon Wiltsie

“To the Ends of the Earth: Adventures of an Expedition Photographer” by Gordon Wiltsie

This was a fascinating book with amazing photographs (obviously). I read a lot of expedition books written by participants in the adventures. It was interesting to read about adventures from the perspective of the expedition photographer! I like the idea of this card. I’m less happy about how it turned out. It was done with my trusty watercolor crayons and a black scrapbook marker. I attempted to mask the snowy parts of the picture with glue, but the wash stained the dried mod-podge so the snow is not as white as I had hoped. If I try that technique again, I will use a different glue. Plus I might sprinkle on some irridescent glitter to make the snow even brighter! (And just in case you can’t figure it out, the yellow blobs at the front of the “screen” are tents. Don’t worry, almost no one else knew what they were, even seeing the card in person. Sigh…)

"Ella Enchanted" by Gail Carson Levine

“Ella Enchanted” by Gail Carson Levine

I couldn’t figure out how to represent this very different version of the Cinderella story. I bought some bright blue glitter nail polish the day before I sat down to make this card, so that ended up at the center, as the sparks from the fairy’s wand (even though there was no wand in the story). The parrot and the apple were incidental parts of the story. Once I figured out what I wanted to include, the actual sketching, coloring with watercolor crayons, and bits of glitter polish, went quickly.

"The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows

“The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows

Another very dimensional card… This was my second time to read this book, written in letter form and set on a Channel Island taken over by Nazis during WWII. It took me awhile to figure out how to show a “pie” made from potato peels and mashed potatoes. I added the edge of a pig’s head to show the irony of the Society’s name. (You will just have to read the book to understand what I mean!!) The “pie” was made by coloring part of a second index card in potato peel-like colors, then tearing it into little strips. I crunched up some vanilla colored tissue paper and glued it onto the backing card, then dabbed glue all over the top of the tissue paper as well. I glued on the strips of “potato peel,” sticking them every which way. I added crunched up aluminum foil to mimic a pie pan. Color was done with watercolor crayons. Glue was Mod-Podge.

Lesson #4 from Law of Love, Beth Moore's study of Deuteronomy

Lesson #4 from Law of Love, Beth Moore’s study of Deuteronomy

I considered making this a collage with lots of layers and little charms for items on the table. But after some of the fancy dimensional cards this week, I decided to be lazy and just do everything with my trusty scrapbook markers and watercolor crayons!

"The Big Burn: Teddy Roosevalt & the Fire that Saved America" by Timothy Egan

“The Big Burn: Teddy Roosevalt & the Fire that Saved America” by Timothy Egan

I took a number of photos and just couldn’t capture the real look of this card. That’s unfortunate because this is my favorite card of all the ones I’ve made so far this summer! It is very dimensional and I chose to let the “fire” spike off one end of the card. I made the overwhelming forest fire by coloring vanilla-colored tissue paper with streaky watercolor crayons. I did not blend the colors with water. I tore out wide strips, crunched all of them, then glued them onto the background card with Mod-Podge. I brushed glue all over the top of the tissue paper as well, which partially blended the colors. I drew a tree and foreground onto another card, painted it with dark colors of watercolor crayons. I cut out the foreground when dry and glued it on top of the fire background. In person this card really looks like layers of fire jumping and burning behind a charred tree. (The book was interesting to me, although might be slow reading for others. I enjoy reading about fighting forest fires, and found the history of the early years of the Forest Service to be interesting.)

Although the official ICAD 2013 challenge will finish at the end of July, I have decided to keep working on this project through the end of the summer. I am really enjoying the small format and the growing collection of reflections on the wide variety of books I read!

Leave a Reply

