Mini Art Challenge — 8

It is now obvious that I have been doing these bits of mini-art regularly. Each Tuesday and Thursday evening when I walk into my local S*bucks, they remember my usual drink order. They also hand me a glass of water to clean my paintbrush. And at the end of the evening, they expect to see some finished index-card art. It is fun to have a ready-made audience to share my joy!

As I mentioned last post, the official on-line challenge for Index-Card-A-Day ended on July 31st.  (If you missed the explanation of this project, you can read about it HERE.) I’m having so much fun, I’ve decided to continue through at least the end of the summer. (I suspect I had better keep doing some sort of art…or else I might have to drink that cup of water from the coffeeshop!)

Life was busy this past week, so I did less reading than usual. You will see that as you look through the projects: I had to get creative to find a “reading” link for some of the cards.

Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral by Kris Radish

Annie Freeman’s Fabulous Traveling Funeral by Kris Radish

I was curious if I would enjoy this novel as much as I did when first discovering it a few years ago. I did…and am going to buy it to add to my “grieving” resource collection. I traced an outline map of the United States onto tissue paper, outlined it with scrapbook markers, then glued it onto the index card. Once dry, I added stars for the 6 significant locations in the book. I painted a light wash of background color with my handy-dandy watercolor crayons. Finally, I layered bits of textured red cardstock onto an index card base to mimic high-top sneakers, complete with tiny tied bows.

The Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guillebeau

The Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guillebeau

I regularly read the blog from this author (found HERE). This book was even more hard-hitting and practical than his blog. The card illustrates one of the stories told in the book. I painted a wild, swirly background with watercolor crayons. I made a ladder and a “box” from stir sticks and a cup warmer from the coffeeshop where I was sitting. I attached dimensional stickers of bananas and a crazy monkey. I finished by lettering the main idea of the book with a black scrapbook marker.

Displays and Signs at Piatt Castles

Displays and Signs at Piatt Castles

I did very little reading on this day since we made a day trip to Piatt Castles. (You can see photos of Mac-O-Chee castle HERE.) There were plenty of displays and signs to read, plus excerpts written by the builder (Donn Piatt) and his wife, from the mid 1800s. This card shows the statue/lamp holder at the bottom of the main staircase. First I sketched the statue with pencil, and with a thin-line scrapbook marker. I added a background reminiscent of the parquetry walls and floors throughout the castle. All color was added with watercolor crayons.

Puzzle Magazine(s) -- by Dell and by Penny Press

Puzzle Magazine(s) — by Dell and by Penny Press

Another day with little reading. This card represents the hours and hours I spend doing a wide variety of word puzzles found in Puzzle Magazines. I tore out bits of some of my favorite kinds of puzzles and collaged them onto an index card. I made up a grid of crossed-words relating to puzzles and lettered it onto tissue paper, which I then attached over the puzzle bits with mod-podge.

Sermon #6 from "Magnificent" series by Pastor Tom Pauquette

Sermon #6 from “Magnificent” series by Pastor Tom Pauquette

This collage was done with a variety of art supplies. The background was sprayed with Dylusions ink (a new-to-me supply that is quite fun to play with!) After looking at a zillion photos of large plows, I sketched part of a plow with pencil and colored it in with watercolor crayons. I added three plow blades cut from the thick, textured foil found on a yoghurt container. It is hard to see in the photo, but the back edge of each blade curves outward. I added a torn piece of tan napkin into the corner, added darker brown lines with watercolor crayons, then collaged fuzzy brown yard in rows, trying to mimic fresh-plowed soil. Finally I lettered the main theme onto the card with a scrapbook marker.

The Trader Joe's Adventure by Len Lewis

The Trader Joe’s Adventure by Len Lewis

The basic information in this book about Trader Joe’s stores was fascinating. Unfortunately it was repetitive, so I did not finish the book. I had fun playing with the tropical theme of the stores for this card. I glued down a piece of flowered paper for a background. I layered bits cut from product packaging and from a paper bag from the store. I added sparkly stickers for a some bling. I ended up with a fun card reminding me of a fun store!

For All Time: A Complete Guide to Writing Your Family History by Charley Kempthorne

For All Time: A Complete Guide to Writing Your Family History by Charley Kempthorne

How does one illustrate a book of writing techniques and family stories used as examples? I decided to make a “family tree.” I sprayed a separate index card with green Dylusions Ink spray and let it dry. Meanwhile I painted the background and the tree trunk with watercolor crayons. I tore out pieces of the inked card to make the leaves of the tree, layered them onto the background card, and added some tree branches with the watercolor crayons. Finally I added some rhinestones to represent family members, and outlined the “jewels” with a black scrapbook marker.

Lesson #6 from Law of Love, the study of Deuteronomy by Beth Moore

Lesson #6 from Law of Love, the study of Deuteronomy by Beth Moore

The final lesson in the Women’s Bible Study I have been attending for the summer was focused on the last words of Moses and his death. It was stated that perhaps God carried Moses’ dead body down to the valley to bury it. I made this card to represent that image. I added a pink shirt and red hair to the man to represent my son who died a few years ago. The background was sprayed with my new toy, Dylusions Ink spray. I drew the images on a separate card, sketched the body with a thin-line scrapbook marker and colored everything with watercolor crayons. Then I layered the images onto the background with glue dots to add some dimension to the card.

Hope you enjoyed this installment of mini-art! See you next week…

3 thoughts on “Mini Art Challenge — 8

  1. I love your cards and the book/reading theme you chose for the challenge. I did all mine with quotes. I also am interested in some of the books you illustrated. I’ll have to put them on my reading list, especially the “The Law of Love”. It sounds really interesting and your illustration of it is beautiful. It looks like your son is in good hands.

    • Thanks for your encouragement! I have enjoyed seeing yours done with quotes…that was my original idea, but then I realized I’ve never actually kept a list of everything I read…

  2. Pingback: Completion of my ICAD Challenge!!! | Crafty Madre

Leave a Reply

