Mini Art Challenge — 9

Another post of mini-art. As I mentioned previously, the official on-line challenge for Index-Card-A-Day ended on July 31st.  (If you missed the explanation of this project, you can read about it HERE.) I decided to continue through the end of the summer. I have gotten behind, so it will most likely take me part way through September to finish all of the art of this Summer of Reading art project. After that, I hope to continue doing art each Tuesday and Thursday evening–there are some regulars at S*bucks that have become friends!

Here is the next installment of mini-art:

Troubled Minds: Mental Illness and the Church's Mission by Amy Simpson

Troubled Minds: Mental Illness and the Church’s Mission by Amy Simpson

This book gave an excellent summary of types of mental illness and the challenges these people face in the church. Unfortunately, far too often they are ostracized. Although I wish there was more in-depth look at the scriptural precedents for interacting with the mentally ill, this book does give excellent, specific ideas of ways to be more inclusive and less judgmental. For the mini-art card, I painted a background of a church building and stained glass window with watercolor crayons. Then I layered a collage onto the background made from pieces of faces cut from magazines. I finished with a cross to be a “steeple” on the church (which was actually a necklace from a magazine photo).

My Beloved Brontosaurus: on the road with old bones, new science, and our favorite dinosaurs by Brian Switek

My Beloved Brontosaurus: on the road with old bones, new science, and our favorite dinosaurs by Brian Switek

This book is enjoyable reading for a dinosaur loving geek, but goes into more science detail than many readers would want to wade through. This card is another collage, this time made entirely from bits cut out of magazines. It is not particularly accurate for the book, but makes me smile every time I look at it!

I Really Should Have Stayed Home: worst journeys from Harare to Eternity, edited by Roger Rapoport and Bob Drews

I Really Should Have Stayed Home: worst journeys from Harare to Eternity, edited by Roger Rapoport and Bob Drews

This book is a collection of terrible travel experiences. Many of them are funny after the fact but would have been terrifying at the time! This picture was made with watercolor crayons. Detail was added to the suitcases and the traincar with a black scrapbook marker. Not one of my favorite cards…although I really like how the mountains turned out.

Poor Yorick: A Chooseable-path Adventure by Ryan North, Wlm. Shakespeare and YOU

Poor Yorick: A Chooseable-path Adventure by Ryan North, Wlm. Shakespeare and YOU

This was a fun book to read—a choose-your-own-adventure story for adults. After the first few endings, it became humorous to realize no matter which path is chosen, Yorick will die and later be found as a skull for Hamlet to consult. I really like how this card turned out. I sprayed the background with blue and green dylusions inks. I drew a skull, then traced it onto tissue paper with the fat side of a scrapbook marker. I made a branching path with saturated watercolor crayons, outlined with marker. I added a skull at the end of each pathway to represent all the choices in the story.

2013 Annual Print Book of The Old Schoolhouse (a Family Education Magazine)

2013 Annual Print Book of The Old Schoolhouse (a Family Education Magazine)

I spent a few weeks reading the articles in this print summary of an online magazine about homeschooling. For this card, I added a quick background with my trusty watercolor crayons. I added thick fabric ribbons to look like houses, then drew on details with marker. Finally, I added the word to balance the space.

The In-Between by Jeff Goins

The In-Between by Jeff Goins

I am certain every person has at some time experienced the “in-between” — a time when the past is over and the “what’s next” is still unclear. This book does an excellent job of showing why these times are so important. In this card I tried to show that growth is still occurring during the foggy, seemingly-empty in-between time. To make this card, I used watercolor crayons to paint the lower third of the card as dirt with seeds and roots. I sprayed a second card with blue dylusion ink. When that layer dried, I added green vines with saturated watercolor crayons. I sprayed another card with green dylusion ink then cut out a vine and leaves. Finally, I wrote “in-between” with fat marker on a piece of sparkly tissue paper and covered it with a second piece of tissue paper. This foggy layer was glued to the card.

The Human Company by William Saroyan

The Human Company by William Saroyan

This novel was a fascinating glimpse into small-town life in California during World War II. The main character is a 14 year old telegram delivery boy. To make this card, I did a quick sketch of a bicycle courier with a fat scrapbook marker. I added color and a background with watercolor crayons. Finally, I made a mini telegram, coloring a second piece of index card with yellow watercolor crayons and writing “The War Department regrets to inform you…” I cut this into tiny pieces and dropped them into a swirl of glue to mimic torn up telegrams scattering behind the messenger.

I Never Promised You a Goodie Bag (A Memoir of a Life Through Events--the ones you plan and the ones you don't) by Jennifer Gilbert

I Never Promised You a Goodie Bag (A Memoir of a Life Through Events–the ones you plan and the ones you don’t) by Jennifer Gilbert

This book is a heart-breaking, breath-stopping story of devastation, emotional-deadness, and gradual resurrection for the author, set against her high-flying career as an event planner. This card is another collage made from bits and pieces cut or torn from magazines. The background was filled in with a light wash of watercolor crayons. The bottom of the card represents the emotional dead places (a pit of darkness). The top part is a lacy “tablecloth” set with a plate and a fancy wedding cake. To add bling, I set glass beads into lines of sparkle glue.

That’s all for this week…with more to come!

One thought on “Mini Art Challenge — 9

Leave a Reply

