Mini Art Challenge — 10

Another post of mini-art. As I mentioned previously, the official on-line challenge for Index-Card-A-Day ended on July 31st.  (If you missed the explanation of this project, you can read about it HERE.) I decided to continue through the end of the summer. I have gotten behind, so it will most likely take me part way through September to finish all of the art of this Summer of Reading art project.

In this group of mini-index-card-art, you will see that I’ve gotten a bit more adventuresome. Some of the projects are very dimensional. I’m not sure HOW I’m going to fit some of these cards into a scrapbook when I finish the summer!

Here is this installment of mini-art:

The Genetic Strand: Exploring a Family History Through DNA by Edward Ball

The Genetic Strand: Exploring a Family History Through DNA by Edward Ball

The Genetic Strand...(detail of beaded "DNA")

The Genetic Strand…(detail of beaded “DNA”)

The author of this book explored the genetic history of his family through a collection of DNA samples (from hair clippings saved through the generations). I found the book interesting, but quite technical in places. To make the card, I painted a background with watercolor crayons. Once that was dry, I added a cut-out photo of some of my own ancestors. (The original photo was taken around the turn of the century–it is the oldest siblings of my paternal grandmother.) I made a beaded chain and attached this “DNA” to the back of the card.

Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed-Media Mapmaking by Jill K. Berry

Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed-Media Mapmaking by Jill K. Berry

Personal Geographies -- Detail: Killington Ski Resort (Vermont)

Personal Geographies — Detail: Killington Ski Resort (Vermont)

Personal Geographies -- Detail: Mammoth Cave National Park

Personal Geographies — Detail: Mammoth Cave National Park (Kentucky)

As a map lover and an artist who enjoys mixed-media projects, I may spend years trying projects from this book! When this card is tilted one direction, it shows a photo of one favorite family vacation spot: Killington Ski Resort. Tilted the other direction, a map and diorama of Mammoth Cave NP is visible (another favorite vacation place). To make this card, I cut the photos to 3″ x 4″, then sliced each photo into 1/2″ strips. I took two additional index cards and accordion-folded them with 1/2″ folds. I attached one photo’s strips to the left side of each fold and the other photo’s strips to the right side of each fold. I attached 3 of the folds to the underlaying index card with glue-dots, then folded the extra strip at each end over the card and attached them firmly with adhesive squares. This is one of my favorite cards!

The Girls of Atomic City by Denise Kiernan

, The Girls of Atomic City by Denise Kiernan

Now that documents from the WWII era are finally being declassified, there is some interesting history to be read. This book followed the lives of a number of women who played a role in developing the atomic bomb at the secret city in Oak Ridge, TN. I based this card on an eyewitness’ description of the first atomic test in New Mexico. I painted the background with watercolor crayons. I dabbed glue over the center of the blast and crunched tissue paper to add dimension to the cloud. Finally, I drew shadow figures along the bottom of the card, to remember the victims of Hiroshima.

My Siser Lives on the Mantlepiece by Annabel Pitcher

My Siser Lives on the Mantlepiece by Annabel Pitcher

I actually never finished this children’s book because it had too many issues beyond the death of a sibling for me to enjoy reading the book. To make this card, I painted a background with watercolor crayons, then layered a few pictures torn out of a home decorating magazine. I added iridescent glitter to the vase on the mantlepiece. I added a list of negative feelings and experiences along the side of the card.

White House Doctor: My Patients Were Presidents by Dr. Connie Mariano

White House Doctor: My Patients Were Presidents by Dr. Connie Mariano

An enjoyable memoir giving details about the White House medical corps and being personal doctor to the Clintons. This card was sketched with pencil, inked with a scrapbook marker, color added with watercolor crayons, and a little glitz by outlining the seal with a gold paint marker.

Destination Creativity: The Life-Altering Journey of the Art Retreat by Rice Freeman-Zachery

Destination Creativity: The Life-Altering Journey of the Art Retreat by Rice Freeman-Zachery

This book combined photos and description of art-retreats and conventions from around the country. To represent this, I made a swirled background with watercolor crayons, collaged some quirky, crafty bits torn from magazines, and finished with a few words written with the fat and skinny ends of my favorite scrapbook marker.

My Foot Is Too Big for the Glass Slipper: A Guide to the Less-than-perfect Life by Gabrielle Reece

My Foot Is Too Big for the Glass Slipper: A Guide to the Less-than-perfect Life by Gabrielle Reece

My Foot Is Too Big for the Glass Slipper--Detail

My Foot Is Too Big for the Glass Slipper–Detail

This book follows the marriage of Beach Volleyball star Gabrielle Reece and Super-surfer Laird Hamilton (in The Wave–read earlier in the summer). The title has double meaning–Gabrielle is over 6′ tall and their marriage was more work than fairy-tale. To make this card, I sketched my own foot with pencil and colored it it with watercolor crayons. In hindsight, I should have made the background look sandy to represent the author’s sport. I drew a slipper on a paper scrap, put a piece of acetate over the drawing, and sketched it with gold paint pen. Once that dried, I cut it out and glued it onto the front part of the foot.

Country Living: The Farm Chicks Christmas by Serena Thompson

Country Living: The Farm Chicks Christmas by Serena Thompson

I read every Christmas book I can get my hands on…and it is getting harder and harder to find anything new! I enjoyed this book with so many bright and cheery, non-traditional decorations. This “tree” made out of recycled metal funnels caught my fancy so I used it on this card to represent the book. I used watercolor crayons to paint a background with bright colors and lots of movement. I drew the “tree” on a separate scrap of card, outlined it with black marker, and added dimension with a wash of grey watercolor crayon, colored in the branch/trunk with sienna watercolor crayon, and used brown and black speckles as the dirt in the dish. I used a piece of fabric tape outlined with marker for the planter. If you enjoy fun decorations and foods for Christmas, take a look at this book!

One more post should finish up my summer worth of mini-art. Hopefully I will be done in a week or so…

One thought on “Mini Art Challenge — 10

  1. Thank you so much for responding to my call for artists for my art retreat. My goal is to have a 3 day/2 night retreat filled with art, walking, healthy eating, getting to know one another, healing, learning, growing. I want it in a wooded setting…very peaceful so we can focus on ourselves and our art!! What kind of class could you offer?? Have you ever taught before??

    Thanks again for responding!! Let’s stay in touch!!!

    Leslie

Leave a Reply

