Adventures and Art

In 2014, I went back to college full time to finish a bachelor’s degree I started 37 years earlier. Although I had lofty goals of continuing to make art and continuing to write blog posts, text books, assignments, studying, and daily life took over my calendar. I am quite proud that I graduated with honors in May, 2015. the happy graduate

As a way to celebrate my accomplishment, this past fall, our teen daughter and I had a grand adventure. We went backpacking on the Appalachian Trail for 6 weeks. (If you want to read more, click HERE ) Obviously, I took a zillion photos. Now that we are back to “real life,” I have started making mixed-media collages to reflect on our experiences. It feels quite good to finally be back to having regular creativity time–for art and for writing.

I thought you might like to see a favorite collage in process:

Choose background images, paint borders

Choose background images, paint borders

Once edges are dry, glue on background images

Once edges are dry, glue on background images

Draw tent with derwent inkense, brush with water, cut out image

Draw tent with derwent inkense, brush with water, cut out image

Draw quirky stars, stamp with metallic accents, cut out

Draw quirky stars, stamp with metallic accents, cut out

Glue all images into place

Glue all images into place

Add "strings" to hang moon and stars in sky using white paint pen

Add “strings” to hang moon and stars in sky using white paint pen

Finished collage... "STARRY NIGHT"

Finished collage… “STARRY NIGHT”

Leave a Reply

