Art for the Dark Days!

Bright colors and patterns make my heart sing! But sometimes, when I’m having a tear-y day of grieving heavy losses in life, it feels like I’m not in the mood for making art. I have learned that a more accurate statement is that in those moments I don’t feel like vibrant, colorful art fits my emotions. Dark Emotions and LossesI am playing with creating art that reflects the process of grieving. Out of this personal play, I have developed some art-journaling tutorials. I am currently an instructor with Brave Girl University, a subscription site giving access to hundreds of art and wellness classes. I am excited that my most recent project, “Growing Hope,” is highlighted on the homepage of Brave Girl University! WOOHOO! GrowingHope_Finished Project_watermark_WEBThis particular mixed media art-journaling project (seen above) moves from a chaos of darkness and heavy emotions, through planting seeds of hope, to a celebration of brilliant spring blooms. If you like what you see here, I invite you to check out my class on my website HERE. I have also written a bonus tutorial which you can access from that webpage (examples below). Hope Blooms_Bonus ProjectHere’s wishing each of you the inspiration and the courage to make art that not just fits “you” but matches whatever emotions you are experiencing!

Leave a Reply

